Home > Complete Cemetery Dance Catalog > Every Cemetery Dance Book

Submerged

  • Author: Thomas F. Monteleone
  • Artist: Caniglia
  • Page Count: 520
  • Pub. Date: December 2014
  • ISBN: 978-1-58767-351-1
Choose Your Edition:
Signed Limited Edition Hardcover ($40)
Deluxe Signed Lettered Edition Hardcover ($175)
Quantity:
  • ABOUT
  • AUTHOR
  • REVIEWS
  • EDITIONS
  • STATUS

Submerged
by Thomas F. Monteleone

About the Book:
A thriller in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Ludlum, Submerged chronicles the unique history of the U-5001, a Nazi secret weapon that could have changed the course of World War II, and it's the story of two men who become inextricably connected to the submarine.

The first is Kapitaenleutnant Erich Heinz Bruckner, who commanded the U-boat on its only mission—a voyage that transported him and his crew to a place of wonder and horror.

The other is Dexter Bucklin, an ex-Navy diver who finds the only evidence of the U-5001's existence, which drives him to discover its original, terrifying mission.

Submerged follows both men in a narrative that spans generations of adventure and mystery, echoing the tales of Poe and Lovecraft at their most strange. As the paths of these men's lives converge, a third element surfaces to influence the decisions of both men—decisions that will shape the future of civilization in ways never imagined...

The latest and greatest novel by master storyteller Thomas F. Monteleone is not to be missed!

Thomas F. MonteleoneThomas F. Monteleone has been writing thrillers with elements of the weird tale long before there were X-Files or before the words "code" and "DaVinci" ever appeared in the same sentence. He has won the Bram Stoker Award four times—in four different categories—Novel, Collection, Anthology, and NonFiction. In addition to his more than forty books, he has published 100-plus short stories, written and produced for the stage and screen, and edited seven anthologies. With his wife, Elizabeth, he is a co-founder of Borderlands Press and its annual Writers Boot Camp. He lives with her in a small town north of Baltimore where they enjoy good friends, good books, good bourbon, and a football team called the Ravens.

"In his latest novel, sf and horror veteran Monteleone tells two stories at once, alternating back and forth between them. Erich Bruckner is the captain of the U-5001, a revolutionary new German submarine, in 1945. The U-5001, described as 'an underwater aircraft carrier,' is Germany's last, best hope of victory in WWII, but its mission is incredibly daring and dangerous. In the present day, Dexter Bucklin is a wreck diver who discovers evidence of a German U-boat sunk in (of all places) Chesapeake Bay. But what was this oddly shaped sub's purpose? As Bruckner's and Bucklin's stories merge, we begin to see that there's a third story here, dark and mysterious, which gives the book an added, surreal dimension. Monteleone is an accomplished writer—his 1992 novel The Blood of the Lamb won a Bram Stoker Award—and with a genre-blending plot that combines WWII submarine thriller (see Edward L. Beach's classic Run Silent, Run Deep) with a story of modern-day maritime archaeology and adventure (see Clive Cussler), this book is sure to garner him some new and enthusiastic fans."
Booklist, David Pitt

Published in two states:
• Limited Edition of 750 signed copies ($40)
• Traycased Lettered Edition of 52 signed and lettered copies bound in leather with a satin ribbon page marker and additional full-color artwork ($175)

Production Status:
Visit our official production update page for the latest news and updates about this and our other forthcoming projects.

...

Submerged