Camp Pleasant

Camp Pleasant

  • Author: Richard Matheson
  • Artist: Harry O. Morris
  • Page Count: 124
  • Pub. Date: 2000
  • ISBN: 1-58767-037-2
  • Status: Out of Print

This item is Out of Print and will not be available for purchase again.


Camp Pleasant
by Richard Matheson

Artwork by Harry O. Morris

About the Book:
Camp Pleasant
is a novel of dark love and darker secrets. It is the edgy and suspenseful story of what happens when a sadistic camp counselor goes too far. Told from the point of view of one of the junior camp counselors, Camp Pleasant is part murder mystery, part love story, and all classic Richard Matheson.

Camp Pleasant is cause for all Richard Matheson fans to celebrate — a brand new, never-before-published novel!

Available only in this Cemetery Dance Publications/G&G Books edition, Camp Pleasant is a publishing event!

Richard MathesonRichard Matheson (born February 20, 1926) is an American author and screenwriter, typically of fantasy, horror or science fiction. Born in New Jersey, Matheson spent World War II as an infantry soldier. In 1949 he earned his bachelor's in journalism from the University of Missouri.

Over a career spanning five decades, Richard Matheson has won numerous prestigious awards, including the World Fantasy Convention's Life Achievement Award, the Bram Stoker Award for Life Achievement, the Hugo Award, the Edgar Allan Poe Award, the Golden Spur Award, and the Writer's Guild Award.

His first published short story, "Born of Man and Woman," appeared in the Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction in 1950. Between 1950 and 1971, Matheson produced dozens of stories, frequently blending elements of the science fiction, horror and fantasy genres, making important contributions to the further development of modern horror.

He wrote a number of episodes for the American TV series The Twilight Zone, including "Steel," "Nightmare at 20,000 Feet," and "Little Girl Lost"; adapted the works of Edgar Allan Poe for Roger Corman and Dennis Wheatley's The Devil Rides Out for Hammer Films; and scripted Steven Spielberg's first feature, the TV movie Duel, from his own short story. He also contributed a number of scripts to the Warner Brothers western series Lawman between 1958 and 1962. In 1973, Matheson earned an Edgar Award from the Mystery Writers of America for his teleplay for The Night Stalker, one of two TV movies written by Matheson that preceded the series Kolchak: The Night Stalker.

His novels include The Shrinking Man and the classic science fiction vampire novel, I Am Legend. Other Matheson novels include What Dreams May Come, Stir of Echoes, Bid Time Return, and Hell House.

Matheson has lived and worked in California since 1951.

Published in two states:
• Limited Edition of 1,000 signed copies ($40)
• Traycased Lettered Edition of 52 signed and lettered copies bound in leather with a satin ribbon page marker and additional full-color artwork ($250)