The Beast House

The Beast House

  • Author: Richard Laymon
  • Artist: Alan M. Clark
  • Page Count: 281
  • Pub. Date: 1998
  • ISBN: 1-881475-39-5
  • Status: Out of Print

This item is Out of Print and will not be available for purchase again.


The Beast House
by Richard Laymon

About the Book:
Last summer, while cleaning rooms at The Welcome Inn, young Janice Crogan found the diary of Lilly Thorn sole survivor of the 1903 Beast House attacks. Now Janice hopes to strike it rich with the help of author Gorman Hardy. Hardy's previous nonfiction book, Horror at Black River Falls, was a major bestseller. Janice thinks he might write an even bigger bestseller with her help and with the aid of the diary. All she wants is a piece of the action.

In her letter to Hardy, Janice writes, "This diary I found is hot stuff. Lilly Thorn, the woman who wrote it, was the very first person ever to live in Beast House, and she goes into all kinds of details about where the monster came from, and what it's like, and everything. I mean everything. If you believe this, she even had sexual intercourse with it. I don't mean once, but constantly like she was obsessed. It's steamy stuff... The diary also goes into the first murders and let me tell you, this sure is not the way they tell it on the tour!"

Gorman Hardy smells another bestseller.

He's on his way to visit Janice and start his investigation of Beast House.

It'll be a great book.

If he lives to write it.

Richard LaymonRichard Laymon was born in Chicago in 1947. He grew up in California and has a BA in English Literature from Willamette University, Oregon, and an MA from Loyola University, Los Angeles.

He published more than sixty short stories in magazines such as Ellery Queen, Alfred Hitchcock, and Cavalier and in anthologies, including Modern Masters of Horror, The Second Black Lizard Anthology of Crime, and Night Visions 7.

His novel Flesh was named Best Horror Novel of 1988 by Science Fiction Chronicle and also shortlisted for the prestigious Bram Stoker Award, as was Funland.

Richard Laymon is the author of more than thirty acclaimed novels, including The Cellar, The Stake, Savage, Quake, Island, and Body Rides. He won the Bram Stoker Award for his Cemetery Dance novel, The Traveling Vampire Show.

Over fifty authors contributed to a tribute anthology entitled In Laymon's Terms.

His latest book with Cemetery Dance is The Woods are Dark (The Original, Uncut Version).

Published in two states:
• Limited Edition of 400 signed and numbered copies ($50)
• Traycased Lettered Edition of 26 signed and lettered copies