The Book of Bunk (eBook)

The Book of Bunk (eBook)

  • Author: Glen Hirshberg
  • Page Count: 238
  • Pub. Date: September 25, 2016
  • Status: E-Book

Order The Book of Bunk (eBook) on Order The Book of Bunk (eBook) on Order The Book of Bunk (eBook) on Order The Book of Bunk (eBook) on Nook Order The Book of Bunk (eBook) on Order The Book of Bunk (eBook) on iBookstore


The Book of Bunk
by Glen Hirshberg

About the Book:
Paul Dent, penniless and recently orphaned, hops a train in deepest Dust Bowl Oklahoma in the Spring of 1936, and winds up attached to the Federal Writers' Project, one of the least understood, shortest-lived, and most impossibly ambitious government undertakings in the history of the country. He is assigned to capture the essence of the mountain towns of eastern North Carolina for a series of travel books no one believes will ever be published. There, among writers and cheats, arsonists and Reconstructionists, blind and deaf children and disease-ridden Senators, Paul will meet the love of his life and her lover, witness the awakening of one great novelist and the possible resurrection of another, discover more than one America that could have been, and confront the truth about his relationship with his unpredictable, brilliant, and Machiavellian older brother.

There are echoes here of Laurel and Hardy, Bonnie and Clyde, Powell and Loy, Cain and Abel. It s a book of bunk, in other words. A collection of lies. A creation myth about a vanished country that may or may not have existed, and the very real, conflicted nation that has sprung from it.

THE BOOK OF BUNK is an unclassifiable explosion of storytelling from Glen Hirshberg, the Shirley Jackson and International Horror Guild Award winning author of AMERICAN MORONS, THE JANUS TREE, THE TWO SAMS, and THE SNOWMAN'S CHILDREN.

About the Author:
Glen Hirshberg was born in Detroit in 1966, and grew up there and in San Diego. He received his B.A. from Columbia University, where he won the Bennett Cerf Prize for Best Fiction, and his M.A. and M.F.A. from the University of Montana.

Glen's first novel, The Snowman's Children, was published by Carroll and Graf in 2002. The Two Sams, published by Carroll and Graf in October 2003, collects his celebrated ghost stories which have received multiple International Horror Guild and World Fantasy Award nominations.

Glen Hirshberg lives in the Los Angeles area with his wife and children.