The Definitive Best of The Horror Show

The Definitive Best of The Horror Show

  • Author: David B. Silva
  • Artist: Harry O. Morris
  • Page Count: 429
  • Pub. Date: 1992
  • ISBN: 1-881475-02-6
  • Status: Out of Print

This item is Out of Print and will not be available for purchase again.


The Definitive Best of The Horror Show
edited by David B. Silva

About the Book:
The Definitive Best of The Horror Show
is one of the most important books of the year. As editor David B. Silva notes in his expanded Introduction: "There are only a few back issues of The Horror Show still floating around, and in all honesty this book serves as a swan song of sorts."

For eight wondrous years, The Horror Show held a special position of respect and honor in the horror/dark fantasy genre. When the final double issue was published in March 1990, the entire field lost a very dear friend.

This deluxe volume showcases editor David B. Silva's "definitive" choice of the very best stories from the magazine's publishing history. In addition to forty chilling short stories from the field's best writers — including Dean R. Koontz, Robert R. McCammon, Joe R. Lansdale, Ramsey Campbell, Dennis Etchison, Nancy A. Collins, and many others — this volume features a brand new, expanded Introduction.

The Definitive Best of The Horror Show is a unique and powerful collection, and it is sure to become a collector's item.

Table of Contents:
"Introduction" by David B. Silva
"I Scream Man" by Robert McCammon
"The Young Man Who Did Not Know His Father" by Darrell Schweitzer
"The Well that Whispered Darkness" by Ardath Mayhar
"Site B" by Colleen Drippe
"The Visitor" by Paul F. Olson
"Mole" by Susan M. Watkins
"Razors" by Ron Wolfe
"The Gap Nearly Closed Today" by J.N. Williamson
"Black Noise" by Pamela J. Jessen
"On a Dark October" by Joe Lansdale
"Night Rats" by Gary Raisor
"Passing Phase" by Ramsey Campbell
"Snow" by Kathryn Ptacek
"Witch Woman" by Bentley Little
"The Scar" by Dennis Etchison
"Red Zone" by Brian Hodge
"5a Bedford Row" by Graham Masterton
"The Freaktent" by Nancy Collins
"Optional Music for Voice and Piano" by Poppy Z. Brite
"A Chinese Lullaby" by Kiel Stuart
"The Cure" by William F. Nolan
"The Mystery Buff" by David J. Schow
"We are the Dead" by Darrell Schweitzer
"Immortality and Mrs. Mundy" by Janet Fox
"Piano Moon" by Steve Rasnic Tem
"Wolf is Waiting" by Mark A. Parks
"Red Paint" by David Barker
"Thundersyllum" by Elizabeth Massie
"Oasis" by Brian Hodge
"Feeder" by Mark-Christopher Mitera
"The Elder" by Poppy Z. Brite
"Death Train" by G. Wayne Miller
"Reaping" by Peter Heyrman
"Self Possessed" by Steve Rasnic Tem
"The Runt" by Bentley Little
"The Magazine Lady" by A.R. Morlan
"Nightmare Flower" by Elizabeth Engstrom
"They Came From the Suburbs" by Paul F. Olson
"The Place Where All Things go to Die" by Susan M. Watkins
"The Interrogation" by Dean Koontz
"After the Show: An Afterword" by Paul F. Olson

Published in two states:
• Trade Hardcover Edition ($25)
• Slipcased Limited Edition of 500 signed and numbered copies ($65)