The Night Shop

The Night Shop

  • Author: Terry Dowling
  • Artist: Nick Stathopoulos
  • Page Count: 410
  • Pub. Date: October 31, 2017
  • ISBN: 978-1-58767-532-4
  • Status: Out of Print

This item is Out of Print and will not be available for purchase again.


The Night Shop: Tales for the Lonely Hours
by Terry Dowling

About the Book:
You may have found it too, down a side-street, in a back lane, up or down some stairs. Open at odd hours, usually after sundown, mostly way past midnight, just a few lights showing. Windows filled with half-seen things, all darkling glints and firefly shimmer, suddenly precious.
You know the kind. You've found one, seen one, dreamed one, imagined it there in the small hours, primed and waiting. You've probably tried to find it again, found it locked, found it gone. Some places never stay.

But who chooses to open in these empty late-night hours, wants to, needs to? What people come to its door when the wind is in the trees, singing in the wires, scattering leaves along the sidewalks?

Forgotten. Overlooked. Waiting. These are the watchwords for such a place. And others. Soon. Believe.

Your chance. Your chance again. You've found it and it's open. The door swings back. The little bell rings. The sound trails off into the night, the wind, forlorn.

At first there's no-one. Then, of course, there is.

"You made it," a voice says, deliciously strange yet strangely familiar. Then there's the smile, what might just be a wink. "So much for a good night's sleep, eh?"

Australia's internationally acclaimed master of horror and dark fantasy, winner of the 2007 International Horror Guild Award for Best Collection, serves up another 18 of his wonderfully disturbing tales of appropriate fear, among them such treasured "Best of" selections as "Two Steps Along the Road," "Nightside Eye" and "Mariners' Round," "Toother," "The Sleepover," and "Dark Me, Night You." This is the kind of sharp intelligent horror others dream of...

Table of Contents:
Introduction by Danel Olson
The Night Shop – 1
Two Steps Along the Road
Dark Me, Night You
The Night Shop – 2
Mariners’ Round
The Sleepover
The Shaddowwes Box
The Way the Red Clown Hunts You
Basic Black
Light from the Deep Pavilion
The Night Shop – 3
The Four Darks
No Nets Can Catch
The Fooly
The Night Shop – 4
Jarkman at the Othergates
Corpse Rose
Still Life, with Stranging Glass
The Suits at Auderlene
The Other Séance at Kenmyre
Nightside Eye
The Night Shop – 5

Published as a Signed Limited Edition Hardcover:
• Limited to just 750 signed copies
• Personally signed by the author on a unique signature page
• Printed on 60# acid-free paper
• Bound in full-cloth with colored head and tail bands
• Featuring hot foil stamping on the front boards and spine
• Printed and bound with full-color endpapers
• Smyth sewn to create a more durable binding
• Wrapped in a full-color dust jacket
• Limited ONE TIME printing of this special Limited Edition
• Retail price just $40

Reviews to come...

About the Author:
Born in Sydney in 1947, Terry Dowling is one of Australia's most awarded, versatile and internationally acclaimed writers of horror, dark fantasy and science fiction. He is author of Rynosseros, Blue Tyson and Twilight Beach (the Tom Rynosseros saga), Wormwood, An Intimate Knowledge of the Night, The Man Who Lost Red, Antique Futures: The Best of Terry Dowling and Blackwater Days, and is editor of The Essential Ellison and Mortal Fire: Best Australian SF.

As well as appearances in The Year's Best Science Fiction, The Year's Best SF, The Year's Best Fantasy, The Best New Horror and The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror, his work has appeared in anthologies as diverse as The Dark, Dreaming Down Under, Centaurus, Gathering the Bones and The Oxford Book of Australian Ghost Stories and in such publications as the prestigious SciFiction, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Interzone, Oceans of the Mind, Ténèbres, Ikarie, Event Horizon and Japan's SF.

Dowling has also written and co-designed three best-selling computer adventures: Mysterious Journey: Schizm, Mysterious Journey II: Chameleon and Sentinel: Descendants in Time (the latter based on "The Ichneumon and the Dormeuse," one of the stories in this book).

He has won many awards for his fiction, as well as the William Atheling Jr Award for his critical work and the Grand Prix at Utopiales in France in 2001 for his first computer adventure. He has been nominated for the World Fantasy Award three times.