Apocalypse-A-Day Desk Calendar, by Norman Prentiss

Apocalypse-A-Day Desk Calendar, by Norman Prentiss

  • Author: Norman Prentiss
  • Artist: Lynne Hansen
  • Page Count: 666
  • Pub. Date: August 2023
  • ISBN: 978-1-58767-873-8
  • Status: In-Stock




About the Book:

In this eclectic assortment of flash fiction, Bram Stoker Award-winner Norman Prentiss concocts a different end-of-the-world scenario for each calendar day. The stories range from humorous to bizarre to unsettling, commemorating holiday and observance days (New Year’s or Valentine’s Day, National Pig Day), famous birthdays (Robert Frost, Charles Dickens), or notable historical events (the first computer...and the first computer virus; the sinking of the Titanic or the Great Chicago Fire).

Other daily entries include a riff on the first (and only) golf game on the moon; “The Milking of Elm Farm Ollie,” which reinvigorates an in-flight publicity stunt by adding apocalyptic results; and occasional letters from the sardonic “Dear Apocalypse” advice column. A handful of longer, serialized stories include: “The Hell of Food That Looks Like Other Food,” “The Exterminator’s Visit,” and “The Child Who Ended the World.” This massive collection includes all 365 entries from an ambitious yearlong project: more than 170,000 words of bleak or humorous vignettes, stories, serials, poems, and a few unclassifiable oddities—ready to be sampled in small doses just like the pages of those desk calendars you buy for 50%-off in February...or available all at once for your immediate binge- reading pleasure!

This edition includes dozens of illustrations by Glenn Chadbourne, perfectly complementing the horror or gruesome humor as the apocalyptic year unfolds.

Published as a trade paperback:
• Printed on 60# acid-free paper
• Featuring full color cover artwork and black and white illustrations
• Retail price $32.00

NORMAN PRENTISS is the author of Odd Adventures With Your Other Father and Life In a Haunted House, and he won the 2010 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in Long Fiction for Invisible Fences, also published by Cemetery Dance Publications. He also won a 2009 Stoker for his short story, “In the Porches of My Ears,” published in Postscripts 18. Other publications include The Book of Baby Names, The Fleshless Man, Four Legs in the Morning, The Halloween Children (written with Brian James Freeman), and The Narrator (written with Michael McBride). His website is: normanprentiss.com.

Reviews to come!